Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / Profile / Search



2016 Golden Sower Awards

Primary – 

 Winner:   The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, illus. by Oliver Jeffers

 Honor:    That Is Not a Good Idea by Mo Willems

  My Crocodile Does Not Bite by Joe Kulka


Intermediate – 

 Winner:   Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

 Honor:     Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff

                  Darling, Mercy Dog of World War I by Alison Hart, illus. by Michael G. Montgomery

What is the Nebraska Golden Sower Award?

The Golden Sower Award is a children’s choice award given annually to authors and illustrators as determined by the votes of thousands of school-age readers from across Nebraska. Golden Sower Awards are given annually representing three categories: Primary, Intermediate, and Young Adult.

How does the Golden Sower Award program work?

Each year the program runs from summer to the following spring with local libraries and schools introducing the current nominated titles. Readers can enjoy reading or listening to the nominees throughout the year. Eligible voters must cast their ballots through a library or school before the April 15th deadline.